September 26, 2023

Producer and DJ Jayda G has announced the new album Guy, which is out June 9 via Ninja Tune. The record’s lead single, “Circle Back Around,” comes with a visual directed by David Ehrenreich. It was filmed in Jayda G’s Canadian hometown, Grand Forks, British Columbia, and includes the musician’s family footage and clips of her late father, William Richard Guy. Watch below.

Jayda G co-produced Guy with Jack Peñate, and it has contributions from Ed Thomas, Ibeyi’s Lisa-Kaindé Diaz, and more. The record also includes archival recordings from Jayda G’s father. “I wanted the album to be a blend of storytelling, about the African American experience, death, grief, and understanding,” Jayda G said in a statement. “It’s about my dad and his story, and naturally in part my story, too, but it’s also about so many people who wanted more for themselves and went on a search to find that. This album is just so much for people who have been oppressed and who have not had easy lives.”

Guy follows Jayda G’s 2019 debut, Significant Changes, and 2021’s DJ-Kicks: Jayda G.

Read about Jayda G’s “All I Need” visual, also directed David Ehrenreich, in Pitchfork’s “The 6 Best Music Videos of April 2021.”


01 Intro
02 Blue Lights
03 Heads or Tails
04 Scars
05 Interlude: I Got Tired of Running
06 Lonely Back in O
07 Your Thoughts
08 Interlude: It Was Beautiful
09 Meant to Be
10 Circle Back Around
11 When She Dance
12 Sapphires of Gold
13 15 Foot 

Source link